

## Medical Radiation Scientists Update November 2022

Dear Member,

The MRS Committee convened on 19 October 2022 and formally endorsed the Committee terms of reference and also elected the leadership positions for the Committee.

Your elected Committee leaders are:

- Secretary: Kevin Picton (Nuclear Medicine)
- Deputy Secretary: Phillip Garrahy (Radiographer)
- Chairperson: Melissa Pack (Nuclear Medicine)
- Deputy Chairperson: Christine Hudson (Radiation Therapist)

One of the key resolutions passed by the Committee was to ensure that there is adequate representation of all three classifications covered by the *Medical Radiation Scientist* (*State*) *Award*.

The Committee will continue to meet monthly to explore key industrial and award issues. Some of the issues discussed during the included:

- On call provisions
- Outdated descriptors for roles
- Increased complexity in role and the impact of new technologies
- Inconsistent regrade process across NSW LHD's
- 8-hour break rule
- SSP and progression to year 2 for Nuclear Medicine graduates

The HSU MRS Committee is continuing to look for expressions of interest to join the Committee. If you are interested, please write to the below email to express interest. If you have a collective issue that you'd like the Committee to explore, or issues you'd like placed on the agenda for the next committee meeting, please contact HSU Industrial Officer Anam Rafi on anam.rafi@hsu.asn.au.

Do you know someone who isn't an HSU member? Encourage them to join our Union today and have a say at work. We are always stronger when we stand together.

New members can join at <u>www.hsu.asn.au/join</u> or call 1300 478 679.