HSU Sonographers Committee for Award Reform

For a long time, Sonographers have worked under outdated awards that do not recognise or value their professional skills and competencies. Two Awards cover Sonographers in NSW. Workers are assigned an award based on qualifications, not work performed. 

Sonographers who do not hold a Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science in Diagnostic Radiography (B.MRS) or a Bachelor of Applied Science in Medical Radiation Science – Nuclear Medicine get paid significantly less than those who have these qualifications and are covered by the Medical Radiation Scientist (State) Award. As a result, Sonographers who are performing the same work in the same department get paid differently, which is unfair and inequitable.

With the wages policy being removed in September, for the first time in 12 years, the awards can be reformed. HSU members have an opportunity to address this long-standing inequity and provide Sonographers real professional recognition and fair remuneration. 

If we are to be successful, this process must be member-led.

The HSU has commenced Award reform and has formed profession-specific committees to develop the proposed Award changes.

We are calling on all HSU Sonographers to join the Committee. As a Committee Member, you will be able to have your say and be actively involved in the strategic planning of the Awards.

The Committee is member-led and open to Sonographers (with ASAR registration) under the Medical Radiation Scientist (State) Award and the Health Employees (State) Award.

THE TIME TO JOIN IS NOW! We do not get a second chance at award reform.

If you would like to join the Committee or have any questions, please email me via [E-Mail not displayed].

If you know of a colleague who is not an HSU Member and wants to be a part of award reform, they can join at www.hsu.asn.au/join and submit their EOI to [E-Mail not displayed].